I will be hunting for good food

“WASHINGTON — Scorching heat and the worst drought in nearly a half-century are threatening to send food prices up, spooking consumers and leading to worries about global food costs.

On Wednesday, the government said it expected the record-breaking weather to drive up the price for groceries next year, including milk, beef, chicken and pork. The drought is now affecting 88 percent of the corn crop, a staple of processed foods and animal feed as well as the nation’s leading farm export.

The government’s forecast, based on a consumer price index for food, estimated that prices would rise 4 to 5 percent for beef next year with slightly lower increases for pork, eggs and dairy products.

The drought comes along with heat. So far, 2012 is the hottest year ever recorded in the United States, according to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, whose records date to 1895. That has sapped the production of corn, soybeans and other crops, afflicting poultry and livestock in turn.”

Read full article here from NYtimes

Another reason to eat mainly vegetarian, perhaps?

I thought this comment by someone was pretty funny:

“All of you think that availability of food and fuel are not national security issues? China thinks so.”

Kelly’s interning saga at Clover continues…

Last week was my first time really getting down and dirty with the food trucks. Ayr had me wash + degrease the entire side of the truck so they could reinstall a new counter. Besides learning a few construction tidbits, I also learned that paint thinner makes me feel sick and that sandpapering without a sandpapering device is one of the best arm workouts in the world (wearing my bright orange sunglasses was very, very necessary). I left pretty promptly at 3 pm when I realized I couldn’t lift my right arm to feel the surface that I just sandpapered…at least the side of the truck is clean now?

I don’t take self-photos normally…but hi paint dust!

In order to prepare for a presentation (and educate myself on the food world), Ayr has me on a sort of photo treasure hunt. A couple days ago I stopped by Boloco and Dunkin Donuts for the first round of photos.

I ordered a tiny breakfast sandwich from Dunkin that cost me over four bucks. And Clover’s, with a fresh, soft-boiled egg, great cheese, freshly cut tomatoes, and a delicious pita bread, and only costs an even three!!!! 

This actually blew my mind. And look at how disgusting the preparation is. Some weird egg patty (made from God knows what, it’s the thing my thumb is holding – that’s not cheese), ham, and cheese combination was already sliced up, and then just placed on a paper plate and microwaved. They toasted the English muffin and then threw those items on there. I was mainly really grossed out by the egg.

Kelly’s researcher goes missing on Thursday (actually, she had an eye appointment and her eyes were dilated so she couldn’t see…) and instead does research on Chin/Gyan Mudra. Here and here are a couple of good websites that give introductions to what mudras (hand positions) are in yoga. I will write up my own summary in the future. But for now…

Daily Nutritional Facts

So ancestors of hummus and guacamole sort of had a little affair and made a baby…

Pretty funky looking, huh?

So the recipe is pretty straightforward – “The Very Lean, Green, Mean Machine”, inspired by Tasting Table, and my environmentally-friendly musical I was in as a 2nd grader (it was the title of a rap).

I took about 1 cup of watercress (wilted/steamed for four minutes), 1 medium avocado, 1 small-medium lemon (juice squeeze only), a dash of water, salt/pepper to taste, a couple tablespoons of tahini paste, about 7-8 stems of parsley, half a teaspoon of cumin, and blended very, very happily.

The result:

ALSO got to finally try the popover sandwich from Clovera deliciously inventive combination utilizing the famous southern popover muffin that only consists of flour, milk, eggs, and salt. The outside part of the muffin is merely a slightly salty, crunchy bread crust, but the inside is an *almost suspended* gooey, bread dough that tastes like egg. It’s a weird thought, but surprisingly delicious. In the sandwich, they one-up themselves and include freshly cut tomato, cheddar cheese, smokey tempeh, and fried leeks (the key ingredient!!). A savory rave at 8 am in the morning (after my body wouldn’t let me sleep in). I would probably hit up one of these only once every couple of weeks. But still, so, so, so delicious (I would be not-vegan just for this).

uh, bye.

Leave a comment

Filed under adventures, food, mudra, recipes, yoga

Leave a Reply

