Piriformis Playtime

Yesterday (Sunday) I taught a class by the river and was approached by one of my students about the piriformis muscle. I knew it was  either an internal or external hip rotator that would be effectively worked in some fashion during baddha konasana (bound angle pose), but I wasn’t entirely sure.

So I humbly did my research, and of course, doodle time came about (I apologize once again for my lack of anatomically flattering artwork):

Daily Nutritional Facts

Smokey “Chicken” Salad

Came across this in a French-style vegan cookbook, but changed up a bit of the ingredients and portion sizings. If you’re looking for that creamy, comforting goodness that makes you smile, it’s write here waiting. And it’s blissfully simple. Feel free to mix around the “meat substitute” by using mushrooms, seitan, tempeh, etc., type of nuts, fruit, and also play with spices too! Seriously, anything goes.

Ingredients: 

1/4 cup vegannaise (maybe even go a little less, I still found it fairly heavy)

1/2 teaspoon rice vinegar

1 cup green grapes, sliced gorgeously

1/3 cup (ish?) walnut pieces

one celery stalk all diced up into 1/4 inch pieces

salt and pepper to taste, tease it up with some rosemary too if you like!

& whatever you want to serve it with/in (I chose red quinoa, but you can use a wrap or anything)

oh, oh and I totally forgot – smokey firm tofu!! I used half a packet chopped up.

STIR IT ALL TOGETHER, AND BOOM.

Also, get your bum over to Clover Restaurant or Clover Food Truck and indulge in their Basil Sandwich, with tangy pickled red onions, creamy basil pesto, juicy + refreshing cucumbers, and cheese. OMNOM perfect summer treat.

Happy Summer-ing everyone.

Tuesdays I am teaching in Harvard Community Garden from 6-7 PM. Join if you can!

Leave a comment

Filed under anatomy, food, ingredients, recipes, yoga

Leave a Reply

